PDA

View Full Version : again no spark.


Dam_Buster
08-02-2009, 01:23 PM
right, i have a yx140 engine in a shineray frame,

i have recently swapped the stator on the yx engine for a light powering stator plate, and have bought a new ign loom to go with it

(new coil, ht lead, cap, kill switch)

and i have no spark.

now, its getting rather old now, and all i want to do is get it going.

electrics aren't my strongest point, just takes me a while to figure things out,

now today i have been back checking through all the parts, different plug tested, changed the ht lead coil and cap back over to the old ones, and tested the cdi too.

still no spark.

any one got any ideas?

is there a possibility the stator plate i have purchased from PBS is a duff?

JIM

SammyT
08-02-2009, 02:17 PM
Yh stator plate could be dodgey. Have you go one you could lend off a mate to test it??. Get a multimetre out and test the electrics :thumbs:

Dam_Buster
08-02-2009, 02:32 PM
gonna have to get a stator removing tool, unless anyone on here has a few?

not that exspensive tho,, so might as well get one for myself.

and can check it against my old single coil stator and see if it runs again.

the bike is just starting to bore me atm, from one problem to the next lol.

then again, it will be a delight to ride when finished.


okay mate will check it out.

JIM

Gawain
08-02-2009, 08:44 PM
Certainly sounds like a dud stator. Another thing to try is a continuity test on the wires involved in ignition, may be as simple as a short to ground acting as a 'kill switch' wire or a broken wire. Worth a try b4 ripping into the engine, you may be lucky and its a simple problem!

556tom
08-02-2009, 09:37 PM
ive got the same issue with my bike atm. lol

however im getting sent a complimentary stator plate,cdi and coil from pitbike john :) hehe

hes a legend!!

556tom
08-02-2009, 09:43 PM
yeah man, jon from mini thump

course i will get them, hes got a soft spot for me :)

Dam_Buster
08-02-2009, 10:38 PM
well will test the stator 2morrow, adam from PBS has already confirmed if its a dud he will replace it, which is ace. :thumbs::thumbs:

hope to get this sorted.

JIM

Despise
09-02-2009, 07:08 AM
Jon from Mini thump?

As if you will ever get them! They will probably end up in Ireland or something.





Ben
:icon_lol::icon_lol:

556tom
09-02-2009, 06:45 PM
hmm i ill tell you how great he is, if and when i get them lol

Dam_Buster
09-02-2009, 11:31 PM
Right well, i checked the stator, and its returning over 100 ohms,

so its working alright, i have checked within the loom and its saying its all good too.

could i check for a short to earth by putting one side to the wires, and one side to the engine? as surely a short to earth, would go through the engine?

would this work?

JIM

crankmaster17
09-02-2009, 11:32 PM
Right well, i checked the stator, and its returning over 100 ohms,

so its working alright, i have checked within the loom and its saying its all good too.

could i check for a short to earth by putting one side to the wires, and one side to the engine? as surely a short to earth, would go through the engine?

would this work?

JIM
i think it would mate .. but im not 100% sure

Dam_Buster
09-02-2009, 11:51 PM
right just checked all the wires through the cdi plug, to earth *engine*, and the only one not to earth was the black/red wire.

can anyone tell me what this is used for?

i have 5 wire type stator,

blue/white,
green,
black/red,
white.
yellow.

Despise
10-02-2009, 04:23 AM
right just checked all the wires through the cdi plug, to earth *engine*, and the only one not to earth was the black/red wire.

can anyone tell me what this is used for?

i have 5 wire type stator,

blue/white,
green,
black/red,
white.
yellow.only green then either yellow or white shud be earth types. anyway black/red is live

Dam_Buster
10-02-2009, 07:33 AM
what i mean is, they all go to the stator, which is connected to teh engine,

so they all earth to the engine really,

but i get nothing from the red/black.

so my live could be faulty?

Gawain
10-02-2009, 07:39 AM
what i mean is, they all go to the stator, which is connected to teh engine,

so they all earth to the engine really,

but i get nothing from the red/black.

so my live could be faulty?

If they were all earthed within the stator then there would never be a potential difference to drive the current... Im nt sure what the colour coding is, if you post a diagram of where each wire leads i can help tho. Im sure Despise can do it off-hand.

Dam_Buster
10-02-2009, 11:06 AM
i hear what you mean, spoke to adam this morning, and he confirmed that the red/black wire isnt a constant wire,

and can only be tested with a peak tester.

i will post up a loom diagram later when at home.

i will just split it all back down to basics, and check every connecter to make sure its not bridging/earthing anywhere.

adam also said that the cdi could have a bent terminal and to check that.

im sure its going to be a very simple fix, but its a brain melt all the same!!

will update later, and see how i get on.

grrr poxy wires!

Despise
10-02-2009, 12:13 PM
i hear what you mean, spoke to adam this morning, and he confirmed that the red/black wire isnt a constant wire,

and can only be tested with a peak tester.

i will post up a loom diagram later when at home.

i will just split it all back down to basics, and check every connecter to make sure its not bridging/earthing anywhere.

adam also said that the cdi could have a bent terminal and to check that.

im sure its going to be a very simple fix, but its a brain melt all the same!!

will update later, and see how i get on.

grrr poxy wires!did i skip or what you ment to be replacing the stator?

Gawain
10-02-2009, 12:21 PM
Just had a reread through the thread. You say the yellow and white wire hav continuity with ground? Coz that should nt happen. There should be very low resistance between the wires and massive/infinity resistance for either wire to ground. Im nt sure but i think the generator shorting to ground could effect the pick up coil and excitor coil. Electrics arnt my strong point so pls correct me if im wrong. Iv got a diagram here that says the pickup coil, redblack and bluewhite, should hav 170ohm and for my yamaha its 184-276ohm, how much over 100ohm is yours? Would be useful to get figures from people running your stator to be sure.

Despise
10-02-2009, 01:24 PM
red/white goes to the CDI and thats it.

the colour match is near the bottom of the page hooperimports wiring diagram

cain_351@hotmail.co.uk
10-02-2009, 02:04 PM
hey mate the coil might be gone

crankmaster17
10-02-2009, 03:03 PM
hey mate the coil might be gone (new coil, ht lead, cap, kill switch):roll:

Despise
10-02-2009, 03:05 PM
Would be useful to get figures from people running your stator to be sure.
thats what i would of liked when I had my ignition coil problem but no ones bothers

or they cant use a multimeter, fair enough

Dam_Buster
10-02-2009, 03:42 PM
its about 114 to 138 i think between the green and blue wires, i believe.

i did check all the wires on the ignition side, and must have been mistaken with the yellow and white , but will check again later if they are grounding.

sorry for any confusion.

Despise
10-02-2009, 04:28 PM
its about 114 to 138 i think between the green and blue wires, i believe.

i did check all the wires on the ignition side, and must have been mistaken with the yellow and white , but will check again later if they are grounding.

sorry for any confusion.
they wont ground cause its 2 end wires of the coil:roll:

Dam_Buster
10-02-2009, 05:02 PM
ok,

well like i said, electrical is my super downfall, i'll get there in the end, but i just hate it lol

Dam_Buster
10-02-2009, 11:44 PM
well been looking into the wires again and stripped back the silly plastic insulation tubing over the wires, and underneathe , i found the live wire to the coil, had bare wire just covered with insulation tape, so gonna sort this 2morrow,

did a resistance check again on the blue and green and came in at 116 ohms.

if thats any help?

i will continue to strip the loom 2morrow, and im hoping to get my 110 loom back in shape, to try that !

will keep you posted.

JIM

Despise
11-02-2009, 01:04 AM
well been looking into the wires again and stripped back the silly plastic insulation tubing over the wires, and underneathe , i found the live wire to the coil, had bare wire just covered with insulation tape, so gonna sort this 2morrow,

did a resistance check again on the blue and green and came in at 116 ohms.

if thats any help?

i will continue to strip the loom 2morrow, and im hoping to get my 110 loom back in shape, to try that !

will keep you posted.

JIM
is this not a stator problem? cause I think it is

Dam_Buster
11-02-2009, 08:20 AM
well waiting on my flywheel puller then i can check all the joints and see if theres any bad earths,


but i have checked the coil, and its resistance is well in the tolerance.

not sure what else to look for except dodgy wiring.

JIM

mysterious_rider
11-02-2009, 02:52 PM
Right, i've only read the title and not much else so heres my view.


Stator, measure it if it falls between 115-124 or near amps, its fine.

Your problem lies elsewhere.....

The coil, you cant really measure but check the joins are SOLID. E.g the connectors are properly crimped and dont slide off easy (as my old trike used to do this when i hit water hard. and it would cut out)

Next, check your cdi wires. The wires attached to that white plug. If one is loose or pushed back in and wobbles theres a good chance its not making a connection, what happened was on my old bike the bullet thing had ripped off, and someone just shoved the bare wire back in. It worked, but only now and again....

Next thing. Spark plug, it MAY be this. Chances are slim but if everything else has been checked then this is the only thing it can be :icon_lol::icon_lol:

Check your rotor pickup, my 140 once ran a 17t front sprocket. This larger sprocket caught a rock and lodged it between the cases effectively cracking the case (just an outside split of about 2.5inches) But inside it wrecked havoc. The stone had forced the case upwards, bent BOTH case bolts, the rock managed to penetrate partially into the case and stuck on the second sidewall reinforced bit. This is when it bent the bolts, then because the bolts bent it forced the case to hit the rotor pickup (bottom right under flywheel) and bent it, then it DID run but only for 20 mins then it finally snapped.

small possibility of the htlead/cap being faulty.

Next check your kill switch, take it off maybe. I think thats everything mate just go through it all ;)

Dam_Buster
11-02-2009, 03:07 PM
i will take a picture of where the colours go in the cdi plug, then take the connections out and put them onto the cdi directly, just incase.

cheers for the help.

will be checking it again later,

JIM

Despise
11-02-2009, 05:12 PM
i will take a picture of where the colours go in the cdi plug, then take the connections out and put them onto the cdi directly, just incase.

cheers for the help.

will be checking it again later,

JIM
no need to do that :/
surely you can see if its connected or corroded

mysterious_rider
11-02-2009, 05:14 PM
you only need to tug at each one lightly, if one comes out of its housing thats your problem. No need to strip it right down :icon_lol:

;)

Dam_Buster
11-02-2009, 09:50 PM
well checked over all the cdi wiring, nothing wrong there,

then wired in my old loom from the 110, *which i know works* and still no spark. Next, i removed my original 140 stator from the 110 engine, and refitted it to the 140, and harrah Spark!!


i have now drained the oil, and removed the Stator, as i have tested everything, with at least 2 different items, and cross checked them with binge's bike

i also found a loose joint on the 12volt feed for the lights, on the stator,

so will send this back to adam, as its the only thing i can fault. as this doesnt work, but my original one does.

Thanks for the help Guys.

JIM

Dam_Buster
11-02-2009, 10:11 PM
Lol, yea hope so,

once its running, all i need is insurance.

so march should be a good idea, but i do also go to Australia end of march, so might wait till i get back,

not sure yet.

JIM

Dam_Buster
11-02-2009, 11:22 PM
just been reading about on different websites, where the 2 coil stators are for sale, and even on PBS, it states from 110 to 125cc fitment,

what is needed for a 140 then? 5 coil? i told adam i had a yx140 engine, and he said the twin coil was what i needed,

not doubting him , as he does this for a living, so he know more than i do.

just curious.

Despise
11-02-2009, 11:56 PM
just been reading about on different websites, where the 2 coil stators are for sale, and even on PBS, it states from 110 to 125cc fitment,

what is needed for a 140 then? 5 coil? i told adam i had a yx140 engine, and he said the twin coil was what i needed,

not doubting him , as he does this for a living, so he know more than i do.

just curious.
you can use either of the 2 stators (2 or 5 coil) but you have to have the flywheel to match, so If you have the 2 coil it will be the deeper (in depth) and the 5 coil type will be shallower.

Dam_Buster
12-02-2009, 12:07 AM
cheers bro :thumbs:

cheers for clearing that up for me

Dam_Buster
13-02-2009, 10:35 AM
sent the stator back yesterday and adam has agreed to send a new one back.

should get that tomorrow, or monday.

this should cure it. and i can get this bike on the road.

JIM

556tom
13-02-2009, 06:27 PM
got my free stator plate today :)
ill put it on tomorrow

Ghost-Rider
09-02-2010, 07:47 PM
could anyone help me out with my problem..ive brought a pitbike off my mate (don't know the name of it) and wen i kick it it doesnt give out any spark from the cable that connects to the spark plug so theres no spark its not the spark plug because ive brought a new one..could this be because the cable isnt giving out any spark or is it to do with low compression?..or could it even be to do with wiring?...

thanks guys..