Go Back   Pit Bike Club > Pit Bike Club General > Off Topic Discussion > Introductions

Latest discussions at Pit Bike Club:

Hi all, new here bit of intro. Im scott, not new to pitbikes but been out of the bike mix for last 10 years. Recently...
  • Hi
    Hi new member south wales...
  • New to it all looking for places to ride in Steven...
    Hi everyone I’m new to pit biking and hoping for some guidance around places to practice I am near Knebworth side of...

Old 22-06-2012, 07:14 PM   #1
Timtimmy
Novice

Bike: pit bike 110cc
New member with a few questions. Would greatly appreciate your input.

Hi, not long ago a purchased a couple of pit bikes that were non-runners for the purpose of fixing up and having some fun. Progress has been pretty smooth thus far with parts being relatively easy to find and cheap, however, I'm having a little trouble with one bike.

I'm having difficulty identifying the make of one of the bikes engines. Now, admittedly I should have done my homework first and tried to identify the engine first in order to find replacement parts sould I need them...but I got a little excited and decided to just get on with trying to fix it.

The third gear is effectively non-existent so I wanted to take it apart to replace the gear cluster. However, after I had removed the engine from the frame I found that the lower engine mount on the right hand crankcase had cracked off....nice.

Then as I started to disassemble the engine I found that someone has previously tried and failed to disassemble this engine before, as the flywheel locking nut was missing and the thread on the crankshaft was mushroomed flat.....great.

So now I need a replacement right hand crankcase, crank shaft and gear cluster.......lovely.

Now the problem. I have no idea what make the engine is, and obviously I don't want to buy parts online that may or may not fit.